Toward the end of the first half of the Patriots/Colts game on Sunday night, Tom Brady ran a keeper on 4th and 1 and was pretty clearly stuffed. I say "pretty" clearly because you have to assume the yellow line on the television broadcast is accurate. At no time did Brady or the ball ever cross that line.
Despite this, referee Ron Winter not only gave the Patriots the first down, he didn't even call for a measurement. The chains had already been moved by the time the Colts were able to call for a challenge, so the officials took the easy way out and denied the challenge.
We won, so I should probably just let it go. But this is the kind of messed up officiating that seems to happen in Foxboro far more often than anywhere else in the league. Anybody catch a follow up or an explanation on that call?
This is a FanPost and does not necessarily reflect the views of Stampede Blue's writers or editors. It does reflect the views of this particular fan though, which is as important as the views of Stampede Blue's writers or editors.