clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Former Colts Marshall Faulk And Richard Dent Headed To Pro Football Hall Of Fame

Former Indianapolis Colts players Marshall Faulk and Richard Dent were elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame today. For Faulk, this was his first year of eligibility. For Dent, he gets in after a decade.

Both players' careers are noted mostly for the work they did with teams over than the Colts. Dent spent most of his fifteen year career with the Chicago Bears, recording 137.5 sacks, tied for sixth on the all-time list. Dent played for the Colts in 1996.

Faulk was drafted by the Colts in 1994 and spent five years in Indianapolis. He was traded to the St. Louis Rams in 1999, and it was there where Faulk cemented his legacy as a Hall of Famer. He put together three consecutive seasons with 1,300 or more rushing yards, and helped the Rams win Super Bowl XXXIV. He ranks 10th on the all-time list with 12,279 rushing yards, and seventh all-time with 100 rushing touchdowns.

Another person worth mentioning who is going into Hall is Ed Sabol, the founder of NFL Films. A Tweet from NFL Films, via SB Nation:

NFL FILMS FOUNDER ED SABOL ELECTED TO THE PRO FOOTBALL HALL OF FAME - Congratulations Big Ed, for today being named a member of the Hall of Fame's Class of 2011. Nearly fifty years ago you began a celebration of America's Game that each day we are honored to continue. From all the "Keepers of the Flame" that you ignited with your passion for football and storytelling, thanks for your leadership and vision in creating a place where football lives forever.

Deion Sanders, Shannon Sharpe, and Chris Hanburger were also elected as part of the 2011 Hall of Fame Class.

Congratulations to these special special, in particular Faulk, Dent, and the Sabol family.  

You can follow the story stream for the 2011 Pro Football Hall of Fame selections at SB Nation.