clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

No Colts selected to Pro Bowl, snubbing Pat McAfee

No Colts players were initially selected to the Pro Bowl - meaning that punter Pat McAfee got snubbed.

Thomas J. Russo-USA TODAY Sports

The NFL tonight announced the players who have earned Pro Bowl recognition for the 2015 season and no Indianapolis Colts players made the initial cut.  That is not entirely surprising outside of one obvious snub: punter Pat McAfee.

McAfee has once again been tremendous this year, as he has punted 75 times and averaged 47.7 yards per punt (tied for third in the NFL).  He hasn't had a punt blocked and has pinned 25 punts inside the 20 yard line against five touchbacks.  He also has continued to serve as the Colts' kickoff specialist (one of the best in the league at that too) and the holder on field goals and extra points - plus orchestrating a successful 18-yard fake punt run, too.  McAfee has really established himself as one of the best all-around special teamers in the game today.  In a year in which not much went right for the Colts and they had little consistency, McAfee always stepped up and was at many points their best player.

This year's Pro Bowl will be played on Sunday, January 31, 2016 in Honolulu, Hawaii and will be broadcast on ESPN at 8:00 p.m. ET.  This year's game will once again be an unconferenced format, and the Pro Bowl draft will be held on Wednesday, January 27, 2016.  That is when the players announced tonight will be divided into teams.

Interestingly, there were six teams that didn't get a Pro Bowler this year and three of them play in the AFC South (the Colts, Titans, and Jaguars).  Of course, there is always the possibility that the Colts could get an alternate after players inevitably drop out.  The last time the Colts didn't have a Pro Bowler was in 1997, the year before Peyton Manning's arrival in Indianapolis.