clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Colts wide receiver T.Y. Hilton named to Pro Bowl

Colts wide receiver T.Y. Hilton has been named to the Pro Bowl, replacing the Cardinals' Larry Fitzgerald.

Andy Lyons/Getty Images

When the Pro Bowl rosters were first announced, the Indianapolis Colts didn't have any player named to this year's squad.  That has changed in the past 24 hours, however, as three Colts have now been named to the Pro Bowl as replacements.  Cornerback Vontae Davis and safety Mike Adams were both named, and then tonight wide receiver T.Y. Hilton was named to the Pro Bowl as an injury replacement for Cardinals wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald.

Hilton played in all 16 games this season despite dealing with some injuries and caught 69 passes for 1,124 yards and five touchdowns.  For the third season in a row, Hilton led the Colts in receptions and receiving yards and he also recorded his third straight 1,000-yard receiving season, joining just Marvin Harrison and Reggie Wayne as the only Colts to have as many such seasons in their career.  This year, Hilton also recorded 14 receptions of 25+ yards (sixth in the league) and averaged 16.3 yards per catch, which was the fifth-most among players with at least 60 receptions.  Hilton's numbers are made even more impressive when considering the fact that he played nine games without Andrew Luck at quarterback, and even in the games that Luck did play the quarterback was hurting and inconsistent.  Hilton's reliability in the midst of the mess at quarterback shouldn't go unnoticed when discussing the season that he had.

The Colts now have three Pro Bowlers this year and all three are making their second appearance and going for the second consecutive year.  It's strange to think about the fact that three Colts are returning to the Pro Bowl this year but that none of them are named Andrew Luck, who was a preseason MVP favorite.  Of course, we all know what happened in 2015, but it was a rough season for Luck and for the Colts.  That's why the team didn't get anyone voted to the Pro Bowl the first time around, but they now have three who will be heading to Hawaii as replacements.

This year's Pro Bowl will take place on Sunday, January 31 at 7:00 p.m. ET and will be played in Honolulu, Hawaii.  The Pro Bowl draft will be on Wednesday, when players are assigned to teams.