clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Edgerrin James misses cut as 15 finalists for Hall of Fame Class of 2017 are announced

Indianapolis Colts vs Jacksonville Jaguars

When the candidates for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2017 were narrowed down to 26 semi-finalists, former Colts running back Edgerrin James and former Colts lineman Chris Hinton were both included.

But when those semi-finalists were narrowed down to a group of 15 finalists this evening, neither James nor Hinton was included. That means that the Colts’ streak of Hall of Famers will end at two years in a row. Two years ago, general manager Bill Polian was inducted, and then last year head coach Tony Dungy and wide receiver Marvin Harrison were enshrined. This year, though, they don’t have any finalists.

James has been a semi-finalist in all three years of eligibility, and last year he was a finalist as well. His career resume speaks for itself, and hopefully at some point he will get in the Hall of Fame because he’s absolutely deserving. But while it’s unfortunate he didn’t even make the cutdown to the group of finalists, it’s not a huge deal this year because he faced extremely tough odds of making it with this class. That’s because LaDainian Tomlinson is in his first year of eligibility and should get in with no doubt. With only five spots for Hall of Famers in each class, having two running backs included seems like a long shot. What’s more interesting to discuss is the fact that Terrell Davis is a finalist this year over James, which means that the selection committee obviously thinks that Davis’s short run of success outweighs what James did over a decade. I disagree, but the bottom line is that James probably wasn’t going to get in this year regardless. Hopefully, his time will be coming soon, though.

Here are the 15 finalists for the Hall of Fame Class of 2017: Brian Dawkins, Jason Taylor, LaDainian Tomlinson, Morten Anderson, Don Coryell, Kurt Warner, Terrell Davis, Isaac Bruce, Terrell Owens, Tony Boselli, Alan Faneca, Joe Jacoby, Ty Law, John Lynch, Kevin Mawae