clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

No Colts make AP All-Pro teams, not even Pat McAfee or T.Y. Hilton

Indianapolis Colts v Minnesota Vikings Photo by Tom Dahlin/Getty Images

Today, the Associated Press announced their All-Pro teams for the 2016 season, and while there were players from 14 teams represented, there were no Colts players named either a first or second team All-Pro. That’s right, not even Pat McAfee.

McAfee finished third in the voting (which is made up of 50 media members), finishing behind the Rams’ Johnny Hekker (42 votes, first-team) and the Raiders’ Marquette King (4 votes, second-team) in the voting. McAfee received two votes, while the Giants’ Brad Wing and the Lions’ Sam Martin each received one vote.

To put it simply, McAfee was snubbed. McAfee and Hekker are the two best punters in the league, so if you want to argue that Hekker should have been first-team that’s fine. But McAfee deserved to be at least second-team, as he led the NFL in yards per punt (49.3) and was third in net yards per punt (42.7). He made the Pro Bowl this year, and he has been a first-team All-Pro in the past (2014).

Also worth noting is that wide receiver T.Y. Hilton, who led the NFL in receiving yards, didn’t get a single All-Pro vote. The Steelers’ Antonio Brown (43 votes) and the Falcons’ Julio Jones (30 votes) are the first-team receivers, while the Giants’ Odell Beckham Jr. (16 votes) and the Buccaneers’ Mike Evans (6 votes) are the second-team wideouts. The only other receiver to get votes was the Packers’ Jordy Nelson (5 votes). Hilton becomes the first player to lead the NFL in receiving yards and not be either a first or second team All-Pro since Torry Holt in 2000. In the 15 years in-between, the receiving champ was a first-team All-Pro 13 times and a second-team All-Pro twice (Reggie Wayne in 2007 was one of those two).

So McAfee was the only Colts player to even get a vote, and he came in third in the punter voting. It’s just been that kind of year in Indianapolis.

Head here to view the full All-Pro teams.