clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

TY Hilton is Colts’ Nominee for Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

TY Hilton’s Indianapolis Colts teammates have nominated him as the team’s representative for the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award.

NFL: San Francisco 49ers at Indianapolis Colts Brian Spurlock-USA TODAY Sports

The Indianapolis Colts players have nominated wide receiver T.Y. Hilton as their representative for the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award.

Today, the NFL announced the 32 nominees for the fourth annual award, named after former Pittsburgh Steelers owner, Art Rooney. Each NFL team nominates one player, based on their teammates’ votes. The awards recognizes players who display outstanding sportsmanship on the field.

Per the press release:

The winner of the NFL Sportsmanship Award is determined by a vote of current NFL players. A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community will select eight finalists (four in the AFC and four in the NFC) from the 32 nominees. The panel is comprised of WARRICK DUNN, CURTIS MARTIN, KARL MECKLENBURG and LEONARD WHEELER.

The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category when players vote on Friday, December 15. From the eight finalists, each team’s players will submit a consensus vote of their choice for the winner. As in Pro Bowl voting, a team cannot vote for its own player.

Earlier this season following a 27-0 loss at home to the Jacksonville Jaguars, Hilton publicly called out the team’s offensive line, blaming the loss on them. With his teammates nominating him as their representative for this award, it shows what they actually think about him opposed to what the public may perceive.

Colts running back Frank Gore won the award last year.

The winner of the 2017-’18 Art Rooney Award will be announced at the NFL Honors ceremony on Saturday, February 3 before Super Bowl LII.