clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Clayton Geathers Is the Colts’ Recipient of the 2017 Ed Block Courage Award

NFL: Indianapolis Colts at Denver Broncos Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

The Colts players have voted and selected Clayton Geathers to receive the 2017 Ed Block Courage Award. Each team selects one player to be honored with the award, which is given in recognition of courageous play.

Past award winners include Andrew Luck, Joe Reitz, Dwayne Allen, Cory Redding, and Antoine Bethea, Gary Brackett, Reggie Wayne, and Peyton Manning.

It is certainly encouraging company to find himself in. Geathers has been a contributor on the field and one of the Colts better defenders over the past few years, and it is clear that he has his teammates’ respect. That is great to hear because, with one of the youngest rosters in the league, the Colts need a talented and upstanding person like him to step in and lead a young defense.

Geathers is not content to be simply a member of the Colts team. He has also involved himself in the community, volunteering his time at various events like the Million Meal Marathon and the Colts Cold Feet Warm Shoes. He has given of his time and money to veterans, students, and those in need. This is exactly the kind of guy the Colts should be proud to be honoring.

The award banquet will take place March 10th, 2018 and will be its 40th annual. All proceeds from the event go to benefit the Ed Block Courage Award Foundation in Baltimore.