clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Midseason Awards: Stampede Blue Edition Part One

Buffalo Bills v Indianapolis Colts Photo by Andy Lyons/Getty Images

Welcome to Part One of Stampede Blue’s Midseason Award Honors. in this article, the Most Valuable Player and Defensive Player of the Year awards will be handed out. During these articles, there will be a league wide choice and a selection from the Indianapolis Colts.

Most Valuable Player Award (League): Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City Chiefs

Most Valuable Player Award (Colts): Andrew Luck, Quarterback

Todd Gurley could get the nod here with what he has done with the Los Angeles Rams up until this point, but the Stampede Blue MVP award goes to Patrick Mahomes by a slim margin. It’s evident Gurley is one of the best players in league, averaging 4.8 yards per carry and has 12 rushing touchdowns to go along with three receiving touchdowns. But Mahomes has been on a different level since taking over for Alex Smith, throwing 29 touchdowns to just seven interceptions. It’s hard not to enjoy what Mahomes has done thus far. But if you took Gurley off the Rams, and then took Mahomes off the Chiefs, it’s possible Los Angeles is still a playoff team while Kansas City could plummet.

That’s one reason why Mahomes gets the award for now. That could change seven weeks from now.

For the Indianapolis Colts, the MVP award goes to Andrew Luck — although the entire offensive line as a whole could have garnered the award as well. The Colts sit at 3-5 heading into a Week 10 matchup with the Jacksonville Jaguars — and Indianapolis has played well enough, arguably, to be 6-2 or 5-3. Luck is near the top of the league when it comes to passing touchdowns (23) and is completing a career-high in passes at 65.8 percent.

In other words, welcome back, Andy.

NFL: Indianapolis Colts at Philadelphia Eagles Eric Hartline-USA TODAY Sports

Defensive Player of the Year (League): Aaron Donald, Los Angeles Rams; Darius Leonard (Colts)

Khalil Mack and Aaron Donald would be the top two choices through nine weeks, and it’s quite possible Mack could still end up winning the honor when the season concludes. Mack’s absence from the Oakland Raiders have been felt. In his first four games with the Chicago Bears, the former Buffalo star compiled five sacks, four forced fumbles, two passes defended, an interception and a touchdown. The Raiders have just seven sacks as team.

Donald has 10 sacks and is well on his way to another DPOY honor. For the Indianapolis Colts, the award goes to Darius Leonard. Leonard, in seven appearances this season, has 88 combined tackles (58 solo), four sacks, and three forced fumbles. Those statistics are impressive due to the fact Leonard has also missed one game to injury.

Oh yeah, he’s just a rookie.