clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Several Colts Named to ESPN’s AFC South All-Decade Team

2013 Pro Bowl Photo by Scott Cunningham/Getty Images

According to ESPN’s AFC South Reporters, several Indianapolis Colts were named to ESPN’s AFC South All-Decade Team: quarterback Andrew Luck, wide receiver T.Y. Hilton, offensive guard Quenton Nelson, pass rusher Robert Mathis, linebacker Darius Leonard, kicker Adam Vinatieri—and sort of wide receiver Andre Johnson (who lasted just one season in Indy and was included essentially because of his longtime Houston Texans’ tenure):

ESPN’s AFC South All-Decade Team

Voted on by ESPN’s AFC South reporters.


QB: Andrew Luck, Colts, 2012-18

RB: Arian Foster, Texans, 2009-15

WR: Andre Johnson, Texans, 2003-14; Colts, 2015; Titans, 2016

WR: DeAndre Hopkins, Texans, 2013-19

WR: T.Y. Hilton, Colts, 2012-present

T: Duane Brown, Texans, 2010-17

G: Quenton Nelson, Colts, 2018-present

C: Ben Jones, Texans, 2012-15, Titans, 2016-present

RG: Wade Smith, Texans, 2010-13

T: Jack Conklin, Titans, 2016-19

TE: Delanie Walker, Titans, 2013-19


DE: J.J. Watt, Texans, 2011-present

DT: Jurrell Casey, Titans, 2011-19

DT: Calais Campbell, Jaguars, 2017-19

DE: Robert Mathis, Colts 2003-16

LB: Darius Leonard, Colts, 2018-present

LB: Jadeveon Clowney, Texans, 2014-18

LB: Paul Posluszny, Jaguars, 2011-17

CB: Jalen Ramsey, Jaguars, 2016-19

CB: Johnathan Joseph, Texans, 2011-19

S: Kevin Byard, Titans, 2016-present

S: Michael Griffin, Titans, 2007-15


KR/PR: Marc Mariani, Titans, 2010-13, 2016

K: Adam Vinatieri, Colts, 2006-19

P: Shane Lechler, Texans, 2013-17

At first glance though, my initial reaction was who didn’t make it for the Colts and got potentially snubbed in the overall selection process:

Tackle Anthony Castonzo (unless the list is purely for a right tackle with Conklin), center Ryan Kelly (Ben Jones has never made a Pro Bowl or been considered elite—but has the longevity), Vontae Davis (a 2x Pro Bowl cornerback for the Colts—the same as Joseph with the Texans), and last but certainly not least, All-Pro punter Pat McAfee (who was recently named PFF’s ‘Punter of the Decade’—while Lechler never made a Pro Bowl or All-Pro with the Texans but was the NFL’s punting yards leader in 2017).

A pair of Colts’ 2x Pro Bowlers: tight end Jack Doyle and safety Mike Adams should also get a nod here for consideration—although their omissions weren’t as necessarily glaring given who was ultimately chosen ahead of them.

Otherwise, the selections seem pretty fair, and it’s hard to argue with the choices—as the Colts were reasonably well represented on ESPN’s AFC South All-Decade Team.