clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Colts Announce Team Captains for the 2020 Season

NFL: Indianapolis Colts at Pittsburgh Steelers Philip G. Pavely-USA TODAY Sports

The Indianapolis Colts announced their team captains for the 2020 season which include quarterback Philip Rivers (offense), wide receiver T.Y. Hilton (offense), linebacker Darius Leonard (defense), defensive end Justin Houston (defense), and linebacker Zaire Franklin (special teams):

There’s definitely veteran leadership among Colts team captains, as Rivers (38 years old), Hilton (30 years old), and Justin Houston (31 years old) are some of the team’s most elder statesmen. Between the three, that’s 34 years of combined NFL experience.

Meanwhile, 2x All-Pro linebacker Darius Leonard is the best player on the Colts defense—and arguably on the entire roster (although Quenton Nelson has a legitimate beef there).

The Maniac always ‘brings the juice’—with tremendous passion, heart, and hard work—and is a leader in the Colts locker room.

Lastly, Zaire Franklin will be replacing a longtime Colts special teams captain legend, Adam Vinatieri, who remains a free agent—but the young linebacker led Indy in special teams snaps last season at 81.3% of the total snaps.

He’s also been a key team leader on recent social justice issues.

It’s a good mix of veteran and young leaders for the Colts during 2020, and you know what they say, the leadership starts up top.